A Day In The Life

I thought it would be fun to share a bit of what our life is like while Piper is in the hospital. Life as the mom to my two boys is never dull. Even grocery shopping can be entertaining.

Are you familiar with the carts with the cars on the front of them. They are unwieldy and pre-toddler motherhood I couldn’t help but give a sympathetic smile at moms who had gotten suckered into using them as I hurried past them in the store. Now I am that mother.

I had gotten to the store and gotten the cart wiped down with the antiseptic wipes, the boys loaded happily and my shopping was going well. I looked up to check on them and they were both sitting nicely, faces forward, turning the steering wheels and beeping away happily. I thought they are being really good today. How refreshing to have a nice shopping trip. I payed and went to pull I-man (my almost two year old) out of the cart when I realized that he had shimmied his pants and diaper down to his ankles and I had been pushing him happily through the store with his wiener bared for all to see. The mortification set in instantly. How many people had observed this scene as I naively completed my shopping? When we got to the car I asked Super S (my three year old) why he didn’t tell me that I-man had pulled his pants down. To which he in all earnestness replied, “Don’t worry about it Mom, he was coolin off.”

Truthfully, I couldn’t help it I laughed. And I have laughed numerous times since when I think about it. I am so blessed to have two wonderful, humorous little boys who make life so colorful as I walk through these days with Miss P. I am so happy that this is my life!

To keep you all updated on my beautiful little girl. It is a day of celebration. She is two pounds and looking so big, strange to think two pound baby can look big but she does. She is off CPAP and tolerating her feeds very well. Road mapping her future, she needs to be able to not have any more bradycardias or desaturations, maintain her own body temperature, and take all of her feeds by herself (which requires that she develop the suck, swallow breathe reflex) and then she can go home! Providing that nothing else comes up. We still have a long way to go but we have come so far. I am very proud of her!

Thanks again for all of your thoughts and prayers!

8 thoughts on “A Day In The Life

  1. So glad to hear things are going better. We got a laugh out of the story on the boys. Boys will be boys. Good that you could laugh at them too. Keeping everyone in our prayers. So glad Miss P is gaining weight now. Love to all

  2. She’s packin it on! Good little girl! I love your little boys ❤ LOL at what Super S responded with!! you can't make that stuff up!
    Praying for continued progress and that the five of you can be under one roof sooner than later.

  3. I cracked up reading this – “Don’t worry about it Mom, he was coolin off.” You have two awesome boys.

    Keep growing, Piper! I will continue to pray for you all.

  4. Haaaa! Those car carts are awful!!! Those days are behind me now. Great story!!! Hey, when you get hot, you just have to peel off a few layers. So very glad to here Miss P is doing well and gaining weight. You are doing an awesome job looking after your little ones; don’t forget to take care of yourself, too!

  5. LOL! I can’t believe no one even made a face toward you! Great story, my kids always have a (kid) logical reason for the crazy they do. Praying for all of you!

  6. Love a day in the life of a mom 😉 Only daddy here allows the car carts as crazies attempt to get in and out of them every time I stop the cart. So the only ones I do is the ones where they sit up by me and can’t get out!

    Yea for P! Every day is a victory!

Leave a Reply

