Refrigerator Pickles

Over the weekend we went to a farm stand and got what I’m sure are some of the last Kirby cucumbers of the season. My cucumbers did dreadfully this year despite all my hopes and careful tending so I was really excited to find some beautiful cucumbers so late in the season. As soon as I saw them I knew I wanted to make a mini batch of kosher dill refrigerator pickles.

I used a pretty basic recipe.

1 cup of apple cider vinegar
1 and 3/4 cups of water
3 tsp of kosher salt
heated until it is almost boiling

In wide mouth pint jar I added
1/2 to 1 clover of fresh minced garlic (it depends how much you like garlic and how big your cloves are)
4 pepercorns
A pinch of red pepper flakes
2-3 tsp dried dill seeds

Place the cucumbers in the jar with the spices. Pour the almost boiling liquid over the cucumbers. Close the jars and shake to get all the seasonings distributed. Cool on the counter top to room temperature. Place the date on the top and then place them in the refrigerator. Give them 48 hours to a week to marinate and enjoy!

It is a fun project that the kids can even get involved with. My four year old especially enjoyed shaking the jars of pickles to get the seasonings incorporated into the pickling liquid.

I love that you can put the spices into pickles that you like. If I had my way I would add a hot pepper into the mix but my family doesn’t enjoy those as much as I do. C’est la Vie!
picklesfinal1

Leave a Reply

