Kid’s Clothes Week

The time has come for the Spring Edition of Kid’s Clothes Week . And this year I’m joining in!

So here is my inspiration
blog3f
A very sweet little girl who needs new clothing desperately. She is always a challenge. She is a tiny little thing so finding Ready to Wear clothing that fits her properly is always hard. I’m always thankful when I can whip something up for her that is fun and functional and that fits her properly. Today’s inspiration from Ashley at Make It And Love It.

I made a couple of modifications. First I used 1 inch bias tape instead of the two inch. Mostly because I got this handy little bias tape making machine and I only have the one inch attachment. I never want to hand press bias tape again. But I think it worked with the overall aesthetic because the thicker straps would have overwhelmed the top.
blog6f

Secondly I added some shirring to the front and the back of the romper so that the chest would fit properly. It was gaping. It wasn’t pretty. I added the shirring last in a last ditch effort to save the ill fitting romper. It made a huge difference.
blog2f copy

And of course my model has her own ideas about posing
blog7f copy

Overall it was a very satisfying project and a great way to kick off the week. I’m unsure where I am headed tomorrow. Maybe some pattern drafting? Maybe a tiered peasant dress from Create Kid’s Couture?

2 thoughts on “Kid’s Clothes Week

Leave a Reply

