Banana Bread

You remember those nights in college before you had kids when you had a paper due the next day or you were just having too much fun with your roommate and for whatever reason you made the decision to pull an all-nighter? Then the next day you inevitably regret the decision, swear that you will never ever procrastinate/act like a Jr. high girl and you will go to bed at a reasonable hour from now on? Well those days have turned into, the baby is teething/colicky/just wide awake and your preschoolers think sleeping is for the birds so I have found that I pull a lot of all-nighters as a mommy. And it isn’t even by choice.

Well this banana bread recipe is the perfect one to whip up after one of those long nights. I discovered the original recipe (I of course tweaked the one I am sharing) recipe awhile ago and I wish I would’ve written down where I found it because the individual deserves a medal. So I can not claim the genius of the combination of bananas, rum and espresso into this moist, deep, rich, delicious bread. I know when I make after a long night it makes the morning a little brighter and my outlook just a bit more optimistic. Plus all of my children gobble it up and that NEVER happens at this house.

5-6 Large Ripe Bananas
1 egg
1 Tbsp plain yogurt or sour cream
2 Tbsp Rum
1 shot of Espresso
3 Tbsp butter melted
2 Tbsp coconut oil melted
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup flour

Keeping it simple. Mix it all together. Put it in a greased loaf pan and make for 45 minutes to an hour at 350 F. As with any recipe the first time you make it it is a good idea to keep an eye on it and make sure you have the cooking time right. I don’t even preheat the oven. I just mix it up, and throw it in.

blog1f
But she makes all the all nighters worth it.

Leave a Reply

