Sensory Dough

This week was dragging for us. We have just started a new routine in preparation for starting homeschooling this fall. This is week two and while it seems to be a step in the right direction the week was really dragging. I decided my crew needed a pick me up.
38 copy

So we got through our morning chores and made it to our school work time and I planned to do a really cool thing I saw on pinterest http://pinterest.com/pin/166281411214918576/. For those who don’t want to click out it is a really cute craft where they use brown play dough for the trunk of a tree and green playdough for the leaves and then food color dyed pasta for the leaves. It is a great introduction to autumn because you can talk about how the trees are green now and then they change colors and use the pasta to show the leaves changing. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the supplies needed to do the craft so I did what I do a lot. I improvised. We didn’t have any food coloring so I decided to try to use things in my cupboard to color the playdough. And in the process I used things that reminded me of fall. Spices and colors to introduce the season that is so quickly approaching. In fact outside my door today I felt the snap of fall. The high temperature outside of my door was 75 today so it felt like fall.

Natural Color Playdough Recipe- brown
1 cup coffee
1 tablespoon oil whatever you have on hand
1/2 cup salt
1 tablespoon cream of tartar (this ingredient can be omitted but it will make the dough last longer)
Saucepan
1 cup flour
2 tablespoons cinnamon you can add more or less to get desired shade

Combine coffee, oil, salt, cream of tartar, and food coloring in a saucepan and heat until warm.
Remove from heat and add flour and cinnamon.
Stir, then knead until smooth.
to store refrigerate this dough in an airtight container or a Ziploc freezer bag.

Natural Color Playdough Recipe- yellow
Materials

1 cup water
1 tablespoon oil
1/2 cup salt
1 tablespoon cream of tartar
1 Tablespoon turmeric
Saucepan
1 cup flour

Combine water, oil, salt, cream of tartar, and turmeric in a saucepan and heat until warm.
Remove from heat and add flour.
Stir, then knead until smooth.
to store refrigerate this dough in an airtight container or a Ziploc freezer bag.

All three of my kids really enjoyed it from almost two to almost five.
37

40

39

Leave a Reply

