It’s Always The Sleepers

I have a confession. Hark the Herald Angels Sing gets me every year. I mean you expect The Messiah to be incredibly moving, even O Come O Come Emanuel but Hark the Herald seems kind of innocuous. And the first verse is but then that hard hitting second verse comes along and it’s all over. 

Christ, by highest Heav’n adored;
Christ the everlasting Lord;
Late in time, behold Him come,
Offspring of a virgin’s womb.
Veiled in flesh the Godhead see;
Hail th’incarnate Deity,
Pleased with us in flesh to dwell,
Jesus our Emmanuel.

 

I think the four lines 

Veiled in flesh the Godhead see;
Hail th’incarnate Deity,
Pleased with us in flesh to dwell,
Jesus our Emmanuel.

sum up the power of the incarnation better than any other. And every year they hit me when I am least expecting it. Like an unexpectedly snowy afternoon when my babies are napping and I am seizing a few quiet moments to knit and listen to Pandora,  then bam! that happy angel carol comes on and the weight of eternity is in that moment. And God’s presence just bursts into the day unexpectedly but in a way that cannot be ignored. I am so thankful that every Christmas in those quiet moments God shows up and transforms the ordinary into the divine. It is my favorite part of Christmas. 

Leave a Reply

